HOW TO DISABLE OFFICE 365 ONEDRIVE SYNC

DISABLE OFFICE 365 ONEDRIVE SYNC | Office 365 applications by default gives the option to save the file to One Drive. Removing the one drive from the programs does not disable office 365 onedrive sync. It only, remove the file sync using the software. But users still have the option to Save file to one drive. Lets us have a look on how to disable this for Office 365 business users

office 365 disable onedrive sync,office 365 business disable one drive sync

1.LOGIN TO SHAREPOINT ADMIN PORTAL

Browse to Sharepoint Admin page using your Administrator login. Chose SharePoint admin from Admin centers in the portal or see the link below

WorldWide Login

German users Login

21Vianet China Login

2.NAVIGATE TO USER PROFILE

Navigate through this path to reach users profile and search for the user

More Features–> User Profile –> Open

share point admin user profile

Then navigate to,

User Profile — > Manage users.

Use the find users box to search for the user which we are planning to disable the onedrive sync.

3. TAKE ADMIN OWNER SHIP TO USERS DRIVE

Click on the user profile and select Manage site collection owners

disable one drive sync office 365 business

Now add the admin user to Site Collection owners and Save. Note user has to install office atleast once to get this option. Or else you may see an error

“The user has not created a personal site”

Save the change and go back to User profile page.

4. DELETE USERS ONE DRIVE

Click on the user profile once more and this time select Manage Personal Site . You will be taken to a url for the users one drive which will be similar to

https://orgname.sharepoint.com/personal/username_domain_com/_layouts/15/onedrive.aspx

Now change the last part of the url from onedrive.aspx to deleteweb.aspx as below

https://orgname.sharepoint.com/personal/username_domain_com/_layouts/15/deleteweb.aspx

and press Enter. You will be prompted with a warning message. Click DELETE on that page and you are done. You have actually deleted the drive option for the user and hence the sync wont happen anymore. If any user try to save file on one drive from office 365 software, they will be presented with an access error message.

End Note

Now any user using this login will see the one drive save option but will be presented with an deny error if any tries to use this option. Hope this article on disable office 365 one drive sync helped you sort out a real life trouble. Especially for sharing users. Microsoft may come up with more update. Let us know your valuable comment to improve the topic. Lets us know, if you would like to add any missing parts or add an update.